The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Practice, practice, practice....but how? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
docelk
View Profile
Veteran user
St. Pete, FL
362 Posts

Profile of docelk
Anybody have a list or schedule of which sleights they consider important to practice every day, and how they go about it?--ie: do you intersperse tricks with the practice that relate to that skill or do you do all the cuts together, then the lifts, etc. also how many hours a day is a reasonable amount of time if you want to become proficient, ---any help would be appreciated--so many questions.... so little time
Life is a test. It is only a test. If this had been a real life, you would have been given further instructions on where to go, and what to do.
BerkleyJL
View Profile
Veteran user
Chicago, IL
397 Posts

Profile of BerkleyJL
I am by no means an expert, but here is how I practice:

1. 20-30 minutes practicing moves I know are weak
2. 3 PERFORMANCES of effects featuring those moves, before a video camera.
3. Watch the performances twice. First, as a spectator (this part is TOUGH). Enjoy the show. See if you are properly misdirected. Second, watch as a magician and really critique the moves.
4. OPTIONAL: Get a fellow magician to watch the video or an encore performance of the effect. He or she will give a fresh outlook.

That's what I do, but step 4 is hard to arrange. Many of my magical friends are busy.
I need a stage name.

Joe Berkley
Apprentice
View Profile
Regular user
164 Posts

Profile of Apprentice
The topic is a little bit difficult to answer maybe because I'm not sure what aspect you're referring to.

Assuming you're a beginner.

Assuming you're not a hardcore Flourish, Sleight of Hand guy (which has much higher practice times) and want to perform Routines to show people.

Assuming we're talking about basic sleights here.

THEN....