The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Cups and Balls Exposure (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Cliffg37
View Profile
Inner circle
Long Beach, CA
2492 Posts

Profile of Cliffg37
I am a science teacher by profession, and I attended a conference with a speaker who said he would show us dozens of class activities for demonstrations and conversation starters. Most of his demos were very good but would not interest you on this board.

Until he got to the cups and balls. Why he felt the need to do this at a science convention I can't guess. The quality of the cups had "cheep magic kit" written all over them, and his magic was passable but not great.

I felt ok about it, until he finished and was hit with "hey how do you do that?"

"here, I'll show you!" he said. My response of "don't do that!" was totally drowned out by the cheers.

I sat there in horror as he did a fine job of teaching the cups and balls to a LARGE group of lay persons.

I thought about apporaching him afterwards, but truthfully didn't have the guts to do it.

20:20 hindsight, but does anyone have suggestions if something like that happens again? I know that 97% of the audience will never try to do the trick, but they will all remember him next time they see it done.
Magic is like Science,
Both are fun if you do it right!
Rob Johnston
View Profile
Inner circle
Utah
2060 Posts

Profile of Rob Johnston
It is too bad that this occured, but unfortunately there isn't much you could do.

You could contact him and express your concern and such, but that probably won't change much.
"Genius is another word for magic, and the whole point of magic is that it is inexplicable." - Margot Fonteyn
Pete Biro
View Profile
1933 - 2018
18558 Posts

Profile of Pete Biro
Definitely LET HIM KNOW...
STAY TOONED... @ www.pete-biro.com
rikbrooks
View Profile
Inner circle
Olive Branch, Mississippi
1317 Posts