The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Do you keep your NW from view? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Frankm6
View Profile
Loyal user
297 Posts

Profile of Frankm6
How much do you keep your NW from view? I just got busted by a spectator. I tended to treat it like a thumb tip which I used to display in a very cavalier way and I never got busted with a thumb tip. But then this guy caught me with the NW and then I’m studying the Richard Osterling video and I see he ditches his as soon as he hands the paper to the spectator. Should it always be covered? Thanks Frank Military.
Sven Rygh
View Profile
Inner circle
Oslo, Norway.
1945 Posts

Profile of Sven Rygh
I use the Dalal gimmick for close up, and very often a china marker TW for stage.
My advice is to try to hide it as much as you can, but don't make too much of that.That will look suspicious.
I usually have the writer on when I write (-or pretend to write)the prediction/lead up on my pad.
The writer is hidden behind the pad almost all the time, - also when I turn the pad around to show the prediction, and I have never been caught.
Here, as always, misdirection is the central answer to your question.
Make sure that you visibly THROW your pencil away when you have written the prediction/lead up, and make sure that you only use your NW offguard.

Sven

PS, it is possible to see Osterlind ditch the NW when you study the video.
I am sure that that is because you have watched the videos again and again, and because you are not influenced of his misdirection and audience management like what the spectactors in the video are.
I am dead sure about that you never would have caught him on that in a real time situation.
When I
Richard Osterlind
View Profile
V.I.P.
2213 Posts

Profile of Richard Osterlind