The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Review of the show at Café Royal, 31/10/04 (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ChristopherWallace
View Profile
New user
DGAF
49 Posts

Profile of ChristopherWallace
Hey there!

I'm fairly new at the Café, so I start out with a brief introduction first. That way my opinion will have more credibility. Im Christopher Wallace, born in Blackpool, where I got in contact with magic about 10 years ago, I quite quickly realised I want to do mentalism, so for the past 6 years I've been a mentalist, performing occasionally, not making a living, but a nice handsome extra income. Two years ago I relocated to London where I now reside.

So, now I can write what I wanted to write all along... Living in London I try not to miss any mentalism shows, so I regularly check on magicweek.co.uk, I found out about the show at Café Royal, which apparently is the second one. I missed the first Im afraid.

So we were in The Grill Room, it was me and a female friend. James Cheung, the host of the evening, was suitably dressed to match the room. He introduced the performers and himself. Then he launched into a kind of parlour performance. Which I really enjoyed, it was quite a few good laughs. He was mixing psychological influencing and a martial arts-mentalism effect, a new and cool take on mentalism.

After he finished his set, it was a short break, then we were entertained, by some close up magic from Matthew Xia, Andrew Edmonds, Daniel Young and James too. The performers were rotating and the audience remained in their seats.

The first to entertain us was Daniel, it started out easy with some card mentalism. He did a brilliant Any Card at Any Number (which I admittedly asked him about later, it's apparently being published soon). He did some spoon bending and a few other bits. All in all, it was a very nice set and well structured.