The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » On Magician's Level (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
phedonbilek
View Profile
Special user
Greece, Cameroon, France
884 Posts

Profile of phedonbilek
Hello everybody,

Just a question: I often read: "I am a beginner", "I am an intermediate" etc... How do you define one's level? What makes a beginner jump to intermediate? And then to advanced? What criteria are you taking into account?

This post might seem funny to some, but I feel there is a big misunderstanding around these notions. I mean anyone can claim to be this or that; Am I advanced because I perfectly execute a sylvester pitch or a muscle pass (that's an example)?

As far as I am concerned, I would say I'm an intermediate. But I acknowledge I'm not basing this assertment on anything solid; I'm just considering the routines I perform, the sleights etc. But... I might be overestimating -or underestimating- myself.

So... Are there any specific areas to help one define his/her true level, or is this another obscure concept?
Please clarify this a bit for me.

Thanks a lot.

Phedon
...The only easy day is yesterday...
Jonathan Townsend
View Profile
Eternal Order
Ossining, NY
27300 Posts

Profile of Jonathan Townsend
Phedon,

I too am a beginner.

I am surprised by much of what I find, and enjoy finding things.

Just yesterday I discovered that the idea producing silver coins, then changing them to chocolate coins had been explored by someone over fifty years ago. I was a bit crestfallen, then amused that the person doing this was John Ramsay.

I'm still working on the basics and enjoying the process.

If everything there is to know were an ocean, I would not know enough to cover the bottom of a small cup.
...to all the coins I've dropped here
phedonbilek
View Profile
Special user
Greece, Cameroon, France
884 Posts

Profile of phedonbilek
Jonathan,