We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » Maximum Entertainment: beyond Magic and Mentalism? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

PapaG
View Profile
Special user
751 Posts

Profile of PapaG
I have noticed in other posts that people have used principles of this book in reference to other forms of entertainment (eg bands/musicians).

As a potential purchaser I'm interested to know how/if this work is applicable to other types of entertainment...
PapaG
View Profile
Special user
751 Posts

Profile of PapaG
Just to clarify - I'm talking about 'Maximum Entertainment' by Ken Weber
David de Leon
View Profile
Elite user
Sweden
414 Posts

Profile of David de Leon
I’m an active amateur musician that gigs a couple of times a month (I play the drums) and I found a few things in the book that I have already applied to my performances with my band. I found this to be a bonus, I wouldn’t recommend the book on those grounds alone.

Its a great book! What are you waiting for? Its only money!
Dan LeFay
View Profile
Inner circle
Holland
1371 Posts

Profile of Dan LeFay
It most definitely is!
Though written from the perspective of a magical/mental magic entertainer it gives ample advise on subjects as how to communicate your persona, the perspective of your audience, how to deal with real world situations and an interesting model of "how to be succesful".

As in Strong Magic(Ortiz), the astute reader will not mindlessly accept and copy everything that is written by mr. Weber, but will have a lot of questions to ask him/herself as a performer. Wether it is a magical performer or not...

I enjoyed this book a lot!
"Things need not have happened to be true.
Tales and dreams are the shadow-truths,
that will endure when mere facts are dust and ashes,
and forgot."
Neil Gaiman
stevesmagic
View Profile
Regular user
179 Posts

Profile of stevesmagic