The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magic Clubs (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

DougE
View Profile
New user
18 Posts

Profile of DougE
I was wondering what some of your thoughts are on magic clubs. Although I have been practicing magic for 10 years,I have never been to a magic club meeting. After having been practicing for a couple of years, I was in a magic shop and asked the owner if he knew of a local club and he gave me a contact number. He told me that he was not a member of the club[an IBM ring]and I asked him why and he replied "As far as I'm concerned it's a waste of time and I don't have the time to waste,but you can check it out and make up your own mind". A man who worked in this shop also said that he was not a member either and said "I've got better things to do on a friday night".
About a year later I was in another magic shop talking with the demonstrater and we got on the subject of clubs,and he also said he did not belong to one. He said he had been invited to a few meetings,but never joined. He said,"They say they want members,but then you go to the meetings and they act like they don't want you there".
I also spoke to a friend of a friend of mine who was into magic, and he told me about his experience of going to a club meeting as a guest and said,"I felt like the invisible man. Only one person spoke to me the whole evening and then when I got asked to come up to assist with a trick,the guy got angry with me because his trick didn't work,so I never whent back".
I have no first hand experience with a club,as I said,I've never been to one,mainly because of these negative comments and some other things I have read about clubs,but I always like to keep an open mind. I would be interested to read some other opinions,good or bad on this subject. Doug
Shane Wiker
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas
1199 Posts

Profile of Shane Wiker