The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Where do the Non-Professional Guys Perform?? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

sbays
View Profile
Inner circle
Burbank, CA
1045 Posts

Profile of sbays
Another post made me think about this. Where do those of you who do not do this for a living go to perform? Just for family and friends? Or do you actually go out and find people to perform for?

I saw somewhere recently that a mentalist offered a pin that said something like, "You can read my mind ... ask me how." Pretty clever if you want to be approached when you are out in public. Its a great way to get the conversation started regarding mentalism. Great for standing lin line at the movies etc. hehe
"Opportunity may only knock once, but temptation leans on the doorbell."
ALEXANDRE
View Profile
Inner circle
2946 Posts

Profile of ALEXANDRE
I am a professional but I also perform casually in many places.

I know of a couple of non-professionals in my area that perform at parties they go to, clubs and bars they attend, restaurants where they eat, whenever they get a chance to do it, really, and people love it.

If you think about it for a moment, there are probably a fewy opportunities every day that allow you to inject a little mystery into the lives of people around you.
art the magic guy!
View Profile
Regular user
back in the USA, FINALLY!!
159 Posts

Profile of art the magic guy!
I'm not a 100% pro mentalist ( it's not my main source of income) and I perform at various venues--

I do mostly Small parties, after dinner shows at private houses, and some college psychology classes had me as a guest --guess that as long as in the same subject the professors felt it was ok to goof off for a few hours---